Union County Human Relations Commission
UCHRC c/o The Office of the Union County Prosecutor; Andrew K. Ruotolo Justice Center,
32 Rahway Avenue, Elizabeth, New Jersey 07202
Co-Chairs: James F. Keefe and Barbara Boyer
Recording Secretary: Karen E. Positan
Phone: 908-889-9028 FAX: 908-889-9653
Our mission is to actively encourage, develop, promote and strengthen respect for human rights and cultural diversity among the people of Union County.

Contact: Karen E. Positan — 908-889-9028

Ten Honored For Human Rights Contributions

The annual Unity Achievement Awards, presented by the Union County Human Relations Commission, honor individuals and organizations that have contributed in an extraordinary manner to promote respect for human rights, human dignity, and cultural diversity throughout Union County.

The ten recipients of the 2013 Unity Achievement Awards are, from left

(front row):

Linda Flores-Tober, Executive Director / The Elizabeth Coalition to House the Homeless (Community Organization);

Monica Goncalves, Linden High School (Educator);

Karen Hall (Individual);

Donna Albanese-DeMair / Dairy Queen of Plainfield (Corporate);

(back row)

Marc Avena, Arthur L. Johnson High School, Clark (Student);

Roberta Milano / Union County Medical Reserve Corp (Public Service);

Sgt. Nancy Zimmerman (ret.) and Sheriff’s Officer Marianne Hopko, Union County Sheriff’s Office (Law Enforcement);

Richard Albanese-DeMair / Dairy Queen of Plainfield (Corporate);

Richard Martell, Executive Director, Cherished Creations (Non-Profit Organization);

First Sergeant Michael Philibert, USMC (ret.) (Veteran).

This twelfth annual awards presentation was held in the Atrium of the Elizabethtown Gas Company in Union on Monday, May 6, 2013.

Additional information about the Award recipients can be found on the Commission’s website at www.ucnj.org/uchrc. For more information about the Commission, please contact Commissioner Karen Positan at (908)889-9028 or by email at kpositan@ucnj.org.