February 13, 2007

CONTACT: Sebastian D’Elia 908-527-4419
Mary Lynn Williams 908-527-4346


"Women of Excellence" To Be Honored at Awards Dinner, March 23
"Women of Excellence" Chosen For 2007 Awards

The Union County Commission on the Status of Women is proud to announce the recipients of the 2007 Women of Excellence Awards. This year twelve women will be honored for their outstanding contributions and achievements at the 15th Annual Women of Excellence Awards dinner on March 23.

“Our Women of Excellence are outstanding women who unselfishly serve the community,” said Freeholder Chairwoman Bette Jane Kowalski. “It will be a privilege to spend an evening with them and honor their unsung labors.”

The Commission, sponsored by The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders, will be honoring these women who have distinguished themselves in one or more of the following categories: Education, Higher Education, Health Care, Arts, Government, Business, Law, Community Service, Humanitarianism, Public Service and Lifetime Achievement.

The following women will be honored:

  • Barbara Ball, Education
  • Dr. Barbara Gaba, Higher Education
  • Dr. Virginia Waters, Health Care
  • Betty Prezzy Bryant, Arts
  • Colleen M. Mahr and Deborah Stroud; Government
  • Rudine Smith, Business
  • Reni Erdos, Law
  • Barbara Morison, Community Service
  • Shirley Whitaker, Humanitarian
  • Rosemary McClave, Public Service
  • Anne Leonard, Lifetime Achievement.

The 15th Annual Union County Women of Excellence honoree dinner
will be held on Friday, March 23, at 6:30 p.m. at The Westwood,
438 North Avenue in Garwood. Tickets to the dinner are $45 per person and may be purchased in advance. For more information, call
Jennifer Erdos at 908-527-4100.