FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 26, 2008

CONTACT: Sebastian D’Elia, 908-527-4419
Mary Lynn Williams, 908-527-4346


Eight "Women of Excellence" To Be Honored at Awards Dinner, March 28

The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders and the Commission on the Status of Women are proud to announce that the 16th Annual Women of Excellence Awards dinner will take place on Friday March 28 at the Westwood in Garwood. This year eight women will be honored for their outstanding contributions and achievements.

“The Women of Excellence Awards Dinner is an opportunity to highlight the work of exceptional women who selflessly serve the community,” said Freeholder Chairman Angel G. Estrada. “These women are chosen by their peers and are recognized as community leaders and role models for our future leaders.”

Sponsored by The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Commission honors women who have distinguished themselves in one or more of the following categories: Education, Higher Education, Health Care, Arts, Government, Business, Law, Community Service, Humanitarianism, Public Service and Lifetime Achievement.

The following women will be honored:

  • Angela Garretson, Hillside, Women & Children's Advocacy
  • Susan Groning, Garwood, Community Service
  • Cynthia Ladas, Mountainside, Volunteerism
  • Karen Lukenda, Linden, Community Health
  • Versie McNeil, Union, Education
  • Sharon Robinson-Briggs, Plainfield, Municipal Government
  • Joan Wheeler, Fanwood, Lifetime Achievement in the Medical Community
  • Laddie Wyatt, Plainfield, Lifetime Achievement in Municipal Government

The 16th Annual Union County Women of Excellence honoree dinner will be held on Friday,
March 28, at 6:30 p.m. at The Westwood, 438 North Avenue in Garwood. Tickets to the dinner are $45 per person and must be purchased in advance. For more information, call Madeline Brigantino at 908-527-4100.