

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 19, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:31am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris, Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq., Commissioner James Foerst, Esq., Commissioner Dennis Kobitz, Commissioner Tony Teixeira, Commissioner Debra Varnerin, Administrator Nicole DiRado and Deputy Administrator Linda Wise and Chief Coordinator Bridget Sloane.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to enter Executive Session for the purposes of discussing certain Personnel Matters. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Harelik. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to return from Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Varnerin. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Chair Harris and Commissioner Harelik were absent.

RESOLUTIONS

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz to hire Darryl Hall at a starting salary of \$33,782. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Varnerin. On a roll call vote, Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Chair Harris and Commissioner Harelik had to leave and were absent for the vote.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Varnerin. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Chair Harris and Commissioner Harelik were absent. The meeting was adjourned at 1:30pm.