

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 7, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 9:24am. The following were in attendance via zoom: Chair Mary Ellen Harris; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; and Administrator Nicole DiRado. Commissioner Debra Varnerin was absent.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Potential Litigation: <u>USDOJ v. Union County Board of Elections</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Harelik to enter Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All members present voted in the affirmative, with Commissioner Varnerin absent.

A motion was made by Commissioner Harelik to return to the Public Session. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All members present voted in the affirmative, with Commissioner Varnerin and Commissioner Foerst absent.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Harelik to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative, with Commissioner Varnerin and Commissioner Foerst absent. The meeting was adjourned at 11:00am.