

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:13am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris, Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq., Commissioner James Foerst, Esq., Commissioner Dennis Kobitz (via Zoom), Commissioner Debra Varnerin, Administrator Nicole DiRado and Deputy Administrator Linda Wise and Chief Coordinator Bridget Sloane. Commissioner Tony Teixeira was absent.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Commissioner Kobitz and seconded by Commissioner Foerst, all Commissioners present voted to approve the following minutes with the following exceptions: Commissioner Foerst abstained from the minutes of August 24, 2021 and Commissioner Harelik abstained from the minutes of September 16, 2021. Commissioner Teixeira was absent.

- August 24, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes:
- September 14, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- September 16, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- September 28, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- October 5, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- October 10, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- December 21, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes
- January 12, 2022 Regular Meeting Minutes

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Ms. DiRado advised the Board that all Re-Warding maps have been mailed to the Secretary of State and the County Clerk and the files have been submitted to KnowInk for update in the State Voter Registration System. Further, the towns which had changes to the Ward lines will be redistricted prior to the March 24, 2022 deadline. If the Board wishes to redistrict any other towns, that work will be done over the summer. Ms. DiRado also advised that the Congressional maps have been updated.



UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Commissioner Kobitz left the meeting.

The Commissioners continued their meetings with staff and met with the following employees: Lakell Houston, Consuelo Meneses, Madelaine De La Cruz, Daniel Jacobs, John Powers, Lynne Nodine, Anthony Rivera, William Cheek, Gloris Rincon, Donna Garry and Joan Polidore.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Harelik. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioners Teixeira and Kobitz were absent. The meeting was adjourned at 11:56am.