

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, MAY 10, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:17am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Tony Teixeira; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; Administrator Nicole DiRado; and Deputy Administrator Linda Wise.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Commissioner Harelik and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz, all Commissioners present voted in the affirmative with the following exception of Commissioner Foerst, who abstained.

- April 5, 2022 Regular Meeting Minutes
- April 5, 2022 Executive Session Meeting Minutes

ADJUDICATION OF CERTAIN VOTE BY MAIL BALLOTS

Commissioner Varnerin announced that she will abstain from review of all Berkeley Heights ballots.

The Commissioners rejected ballots for the following reasons: the voter is deceased; unaffiliated voters voted both the democratic and republican ballot; and no ballot was contained in the envelope.

The Commissioners approved ballots for the following reasons: the voter did not include the outer envelope; there is no inner envelope in the outer envelope – just the ballot and certificate; voter changed party at DMV from Republican to Unaffiliated and voted a Republican ballot.

The Commissioners voted to send ballot cure letters to certain voters.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz to enter into Executive Session for the purposes of discussing an Ongoing Investigation. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Harelik. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.



UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to return to the Regular Meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Harelik. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Teixeira. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 11:46am.