

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, JUNE 13, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:08am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Tony Teixeira; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Assistant Supervisor Lynne Nodine. Commissioner James Foerst, Esq. was absent.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

ADJUDICATION OF CERTAIN VOTE BY MAIL BALLOTS

Commissioner Varnerin announced that she will abstain from review of all Berkeley Heights ballots.

The Board began counting provisional ballots and on-time vote by mail ballots received through the mail.

The Commissioners rejected provisional ballots for the following reasons: voted wrong party; not registered; vote by mail ballot received; moved out of county; registered out of county and moved outside of the timeframe; voted on the voting machine.

Chair Harris left the meeting at 12:00pm.

<u>Adjournment</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Harelik. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Chair Harris was absent. The meeting was adjourned at 1:35pm.