

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES FRIDAY, JUNE 3, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:20am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz (via zoom); Commissioner Tony Teixeira; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Deputy Administrator Linda Wise.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

ADJUDICATION OF CERTAIN VOTE BY MAIL BALLOTS

Commissioner Varnerin announced that she will abstain from review of all Berkeley Heights ballots.

The Commissioners rejected ballots for the following reasons: unaffiliated voters voted both the Democratic and Republican ballot; voted sample ballot and no ballot was contained in the envelope.

The Commissioners approved ballots for the following reasons: voter moved within county – count ballot but exclude locals.

The Commissioners voted to send ballot cure letters to certain voters.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Teixeira. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 10:54am.