

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES JULY 12, 2022

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Mary Ellen Harris at 10:20am. The following were in attendance: Chair Mary Ellen Harris; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Tony Teixeira; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; Administrator Nicole DiRado and Deputy Administrator Linda Wise were present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harris.

RESOLUTION FOR ADOPTION

- Approving the relocation of the following mail in ballot drop boxes:
 - Fanwood: Fanwood Historic Train Station & Museum, 230 North Avenue
 - Roselle: 108 and 109 E. Third Avenue

A motion was made by Commissioner Harelik to relocate the aforementioned drop boxes because of scheduled construction at the current locations. Commissioner Kobitz seconded the motion. All Commissioners present vote in the affirmative.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Ms. DiRado advised the Board of the upcoming NJAEO Region IV meeting which Union County is hosting because Phil Powers is the Regional Vice President.

Commissioner Foerst left the meeting at 10:27am.

A discussion ensued relative to the following: Redistricting; Daniel's Law effective today; legislation awaiting the Governor's signature, specifically A3822 / S2865.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Harelik to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 10:42am.