

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES FRIDAY, MARCH 31, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik at 10:36am. The following were in attendance via zoom: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

EXECUTIVE SESSIONS

A motion was made to enter Executive Session by Commissioner Kobitz. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Szpond. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.

Potential Litigation: <u>US Department of Justice v. Union County</u>, NJ

A motion was made to return to the Regular Meeting by Commissioner Kobitz. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Szpond. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fortunato. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 11:15am.