

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES THURSDAY, APRIL 27, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik at 11:30am. The following were in attendance via zoom: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado. Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq. was absent.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Board counted Mail-In Ballots voted in the Westfield Annual School Board Election.

The Board voted to issue Signature Cure letters.

The Board voted to approve ballots without an outer envelope and two switched ballot certificates.

The Board voted to reject ballots which were too late and returns which did not contain a ballot.

RESOLUTION

The Board discussed eight ballots which were deposited in drop boxes which were not certified drop boxes in the Westfield Annual School Board Election. The Board certified the drop box located at the Fraser Building in Westfield for the Westfield Annual School Board Election. Voters were advised of this in their Mail-In ballot packet, via published legal advertisements and on the BOE website. Concerns about if the ballots were deposited after the close of the polls were discussed.

A motion was made by Commissioner Szpond to reject the eight ballots deposited in drop boxes which were not certified by the Board for the Westfield Annual School Board Election. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fortunato. Commissioners Fortunato, Harelik and Szpond presented voted to reject the ballots. Commissioners Kobitz and Varnerin voted to abstain. Commissioner Foerst was absent.

<u>Adjournment</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fortunato. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 12:44pm. Commissioner Foerst was absent.