

## UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

## REGULAR MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, MAY 2, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik at 11:34am. The following were in attendance via zoom: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The Board counted on time Mail-In Ballots and Provisional Ballots voted in the Westfield Annual School Board Election.

The Board voted to reject three Provisional Ballots for the following reasons: one voter was not registered; one voter returned their Mail-In ballot and one voter moved from out of county in August 2022, beyond the deadline.

The Board voted to reject Mail-In ballots which were postmarked or received too late.

## RESOLUTION

A Provisional Ballot envelope contained a ballot card marked on the voting machine which contained votes for the questions, but not the Board of Education candidates and a hand-written note with votes for the candidates indicating the machine did not permit the voter to select the candidates.

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to count the ballot card and not accept the handwritten note. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Szpond. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative, with Commissioner Kobitz abstaining.

## ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 12:26pm.