

## UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

## REGULAR MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, JUNE 13, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik at 10:33am. The following were in attendance: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

On-time mail-in ballots with a postmark as well as Provisional Ballots were counted. Ballots which needed to be hand-counted were also talled.

## ADJUDICATION OF CERTAIN MAIL-IN AND PROVISIONAL BALLOTS FOR THE 2023 PRIMARY ELECTION

The Board voted to reject certain mail-in ballots for the following reasons: the ballot was not included; the Certificate was not included; ballots were postmarked too late; voter voted a 2021 Primary Election Ballot; voters voted sample ballots; there was a break in the ballot's chain of custody; and voter completed another voter's certification.

The Board voted to reject certain provisional ballots for the following reasons: voters were not registered; voters moved out of county; voters voted wrong party; voters were new in county.

The Board voted to issue cure letters for ballots with signature deficiencies.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Szpond. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 2:09pm.