

## UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

## MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2023

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik, Esq. at 11:36am. The following were in attendance: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond (via Zoom); Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado. Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq. was absent.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

## **RESOLUTIONS**

• A Resolution appointing the employees of the Union County Board of Elections for the year 2024.

Ms. DiRado stated that she was proud to recommend the entire team at the Union County Board of Elections for reappointment for 2024. Chair Harelik echoed the sentiment, as did the entire Board.

A motion was made by Commissioner Szpond and seconded by Commissioner Fortunato. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Foerst was absent.

• Approving the Schedule of Meetings for the Union County Board of Elections for the year 2024.

A motion was made by Commissioner Varnerin and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Foerst was absent.

#### EXECUTIVE SESSION

- Ongoing litigation
- Attorney-Client Privileged Communication

A motion was made by Commissioner Fortunato and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to enter Executive Session. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Foerst was absent.

A motion was made by Commissioner Fortunato and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to return to the Regular Meeting. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Foerst was absent.

#### Adjournment

A motion was made by Commissioner Kobitz and seconded by Commissioner Fortunato to adjourn the meeting. All members present voted in the affirmative with Commissioner Foerst absent. The meeting was adjourned at 12:00pm.



# UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Union County Board of Elections Roster for the Year 2024

Barry, Richard Carrelo, Diana Checo, Jessica M Cheek, William D'Angelo, Paola A De La Cruz, Madelaine Dirado, Nicole L Hall, Darryl L Herrera, Ena Houston, Lakell D Jacobs, Daniel M Maranitz, Michael J Meneses, Consuelo Nodine, Lynne D Polidore, Joan M Powers, Johnathan D Powers, Phillip A Rincon, Gloris Rivera, Anthony J. Rodriguez, Gilda M Rojas, Robinson Sloane, Bridget K Wise, Linda M Zaviysky, Natalia