

UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

MEETING MINUTES WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 16, 2024

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik, Esq. at 10:35am. The following were in attendance: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; and Administrator Nicole DiRado. Commissioner Debra Varnerin was not present

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- July 19, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative with Commissioner Szpond abstaining. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.
- September 30, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative with Commissioner Szpond abstaining. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.
- October 1, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.
- October 2, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.
- October 3, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative with Chair Harelik and Commissioner Foerst abstaining. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.
- October 10, 2024 Regular Meeting Minutes: A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz to accept the minutes. All commissioners present voted in the affirmative with Commissioner Foerst abstaining. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.



UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

ADJUDICATION OF MAIL-IN BALLOTS VOTED IN THE 2024 GENERAL ELECTION

The Board voted to accept ballots for the following reasons: the certificate envelope and ballot were not contained in an outer envelope; and general election ballots were enclosed in a certificate envelope which was printed for a previous election.

The Board voted to reject ballots for the following reasons: a certification was not returned with the ballot; the ballot was not enclosed in the certificate envelope; there was a break in the chain of custody; the voters moved out of county; the voter was required to return identification with their ballot and identification was either not returned or out of state application was included; a voter voted and returned their sample ballot; and the bearer exceeded the statutory limit.

The Board voted to issue cure letters for ballots which contained signature deficiencies.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Nicholas Nigro, Linden: Mr. Nigro addressed the Board relative to his position as a Master Poll Worker on Election Day and an Early Voting Super Poll Worker. He outlined his history as a poll worker for the Board. He discussed the incident during Early Voting and his perceived role. Ms. DiRado outlined the conversation she had with Mr. Nigro immediately following the incident wherein he took responsibility for the escalation of the event. She further explained she received written complaints from two other poll workers present and their accounts conflict with Mr. Nigro's recollection.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to enter executive session. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.

Personnel Matters

A motion was made by Commissioner Foerst to return to the regular meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Varnerin was not present.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

The next meeting will be October 22, 2024 at 10:30am.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Commissioner Foerst and seconded by Commissioner Kobitz. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. Commissioner Varnerin was not present. The meeting was adjourned at 12:10pm.