

## UNION COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

## MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 12, 2024

The meeting of the Union County Board of Elections was called to order by Chair Clara Harelik, Esq. at 10:31am. The following were in attendance: Chair Clara Harelik, Esq.; Secretary / Commissioner of Registration James Foerst, Esq.; Commissioner Richard Fortunato, Esq.; Commissioner Dennis Kobitz; Commissioner Raymond Szpond; Commissioner Debra Varnerin; and Administrator Nicole DiRado.

The Statement of Compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act was read by Chair Harelik.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

PROCESS AND TALLY MAIL-IN BALLOTS AND PROVISIONAL BALLOTS VOTED IN THE 2024 GENERAL ELECTION

The Board prepped and tallied mail-in ballots, which were received on time through the mail, and provisional ballots voted in the 2024 General Election.

Adjudication of Mail-in Ballots and Provisional Ballots voted in the 2024 General <u>Election</u>

The Board voted to reject mail-in ballots because they were postmarked after the statutory deadline.

The Board voted to reject provisional ballots due to the following reasons: the voter's mail-in ballot was received; the voter was not registered; the voter voted by machine; the voter did not complete the Affirmation Statement; or the voter moved out of county or out of state.

The Board voted to issue cure letters for ballots which contained signature deficiencies.

## ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Commissioner Kobitz and seconded by Commissioner Varnerin. All Commissioners present voted in the affirmative. The meeting was adjourned at 4:38pm.