Public Info

Union County Statement on New Jersey State Disaster Declaration

Union County, NJ – The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders released the following statement regarding the exclusion of Union County from the list of New Jersey counties announced yesterday as eligible for FEMA relief for individuals:

“Union County was not included in the initial list of New Jersey counties that are eligible for individual FEMA relief for damages suffered as a result of Hurricane Irene. FEMA assessments are still ongoing and other counties may be added as more information is gathered.”

“Union County has submitted damage assessments to the state as required, totaling over $200 million. We are contacting our legislators and we will work diligently with FEMA, local and state officials to help our residents obtain the federal assistance merited by this area-wide disaster, which has caused enormous damage in Cranford, Rahway and other parts of Union County.”

In yesterday’s disaster declaration, Union County was not listed as eligible for relief for individuals or public facilities. According to FEMA, although Union County has not been declared eligible for individual relief at this time, individuals may still register their information with FEMA by phone at 1-800-621-3362.

Union County residents can stay up to date by signing up on line for Union County’s emergency notification system, Union County First Alert, at

#  #

For more information on any Union County press release, please contact Sebastian D’Elia, Communications Director for the County of Union, or a designee listed at the top of this press release.   Please join the County of Union online at, on Facebook at, and on Twitter at