Press Release

For Immediate Release: June 17, 2015

Union County Announces Complete UCACT Season

Union County- The Board of Chosen Freeholders of the County of Union announced the complete theatrical season of their Union County Advancing Community Theater Program (UCACT) at a press conference yesterday, honoring the seven community theaters they have taken on as partners for this cycle.

The program, which debuted with overwhelming success earlier this year, premiered Dreamgirls as their first performance in March.

“Community theatre is a collaborative art with important economic, cultural, and social benefits,” said Freeholder Chairman Mohamed S. Jalloh. “UCACT aims to provide a strategic platform to support the development of our rich theatre talent. The County is leveraging our existing resources and broadening the definition of economic development and public recreation to include support for community theatre.

Future performances are scheduled to include:

United Youth of New Jersey presents
Mandela: Apartheid To Die For
Saturday, July 25 at 2 PM
on the Mainstage at the UCPAC

The Theatre Project presents
Legally Blonde Jr.
Friday and Saturday, August 21 and 22 at 8 PM
Sunday, August 23 at 2 PM
at UCPAC’s Hamilton Stage.

Vanguard Theatre Company presents
Hairspray the musical
Wednesday, August 19 at 12 PM
Friday and Saturday, August 21 and 22 at 8 PM
Sunday, August 23 at 3 PM
on the Mainstage at the UCPAC.

Fearless Hearts Inc. presents
Andrew Lippa’s musical Wild Party
Friday and Saturday, September 11 and 12 at 8 PM
Friday and Saturday, September 18 and 19 at 8 PM
Sunday, September 20 at 3 PM,
Saturday, September 26 at 8 PM
Sunday, September 27 at 3PM
at UCPAC’s Hamilton Stage.

Someone’s Daughter presents
The Wizard of Oz
Friday, November 6 at 8 PM
Saturday, November 7 at 3 PM and 8 PM
Sunday, November 8 at 8 PM
at UCPAC’s Hamilton Stage.

People Helping People presents
Murphy’s Law – Group Therapy Gone Wild
Friday, November 13 at 8 PM
Saturday, November 14 at 3 PM and 8 PM
Sunday, November 15 at 3 PM
at UCPAC’s Hamilton Stage.

UCACT grants funding to cover the hard costs associated with putting up at production at the Union County Performing Arts Center. Through creative partnership and a holistic approach, the program creates a successful business model for Community Theater, allowing them to provide quality performances while also thriving financially.

Learn more about the shows at www.ucnj.org/ucact

For more information on UCACT, please contact Victoria Durbin Drake, Chief of Staff, Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders, at 908-558-2278.

To purchase tickets for any of the performances listed above, please contact the UCPAC Box Office at 732-499-8226 or visit ucpac.org.

Facebook Feed