Public Info

2017 Women of Excellence Awards

Union County Freeholders Vernell Wright, Linda Carter, Bette Jane Kowalski and Alexander Mirabella congratulate the 10 recipients of the 2017 Women of Excellence Awards. They were joined by Union County Sheriff Joe Cryan, Union County Clerk Joanne Rajoppi and Assemblywoman Annette Quijano.

The Union County Commission on the Status of Women honored the awardees at the 25th annual Women of Excellence dinner at the Clubhouse at Union County’s Galloping Hill Golf Course in Kenilworth.

The honorees for 2017 are: Arielle Cassidy of Garwood ( Health and Wellness), Sally Curci of Cranford (Special Needs Advocate), Maria C. Del Cid of Union (Government), Terri L. Freeman, Esq. of Westfield (Law), Amy B. Herber of Westfield (Lifetime/Education), Marianne Kranz of Fanwood (Volunteerism), Dr. Nell Maloney-Patel of Westfield (Medicine), Kelly Rieder of Rahway (Law Enforcement), Nakera Sherman of Plainfield (Children’s Advocacy) and Ruth Yablonsky of Cranford (Environmentalist).

The Commission on the Status of Women is sponsored by The Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders. Each year, awards are given in different fields including education, health care, the arts, government, business, law, community service, technology, humanitarianism, public service, women’s advocacy, and lifetime achievement.


(Photos by Jim Lowney/County of Union)