Public Info

Union County Announces Nominees for SHERO Award Celebrating Women Making History

Celebrating Mother’s Day, the Union County Board of County Commissioners proudly unveils the nominees for the prestigious Union County SHERO Award. This award, under the theme “Union County Women Who Are Making History,” aims to recognize and honor extraordinary women within our community who embody the values of diversity, equity and inclusion while driving positive change.

“With a commitment to spotlighting the remarkable achievements of women in Union County, the SHERO Award serves as a tribute to those individuals who have dedicated themselves to championing these essential principles,” said Commissioner Chairwoman Kimberly Palmieri-Mouded. “Through their tireless efforts, these nominees have demonstrated exceptional leadership, advocacy, and a commitment to promoting a more equitable and inclusive society.”

Nominations for the Union County SHERO Award were open to individuals who are at least 18 years old, reside or work within Union County, and have made significant contributions to advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion.

After careful consideration, the following exceptional women have been chosen as the recipients of the 2024 Union County SHERO Award:

Georgette Brusso, Clark

Danielle Albuquerque, Cranford

Mariver Arcure, Elizabeth

Iliana Chevres, Elizabeth

Laura Ciraco, Elizabeth

Clemencia del Pilar Mateus, Elizabeth

Marline Edmond, Elizabeth

Lauren Delgado, Elizabeth

Dr. Monica Gonzalez, Elizabeth

Bernadette Griswold, Elizabeth

Preeti Jain, Elizabeth

Paloma Lerin Rodrigues, Elizabeth

Marbely Montas, Elizabeth

Patricia Perkins-Auguste, Elizabeth

Emy Quispe, Elizabeth

Michelle Salermo Bustamante, Elizabeth

Marie Verdon, Elizabeth

Micayla Mirabella, Fanwood

Christina Alicea-Rendon, Hillside

Dominque Garrett, Kenilworth

Samantha Dealmeida-Roman,  Linden

Regina Rogers, Linden

Renee  Sarnicki, Linden

Adriana Carrig, Mountainside

Laura Morana, New Providence

Julienne Cherry, Plainfield

Danielle West-Augustin, Plainfield

Karla A. Alvarez, Rahway

Sidra Colvin, Rahway

Hannah Hergenhan, Rahway

Joanna Miles, Rahway

Danni Newbury, Rahway

Vannie D. Parson, Rahway

Karla Timmons, Rahway

Dr. Cynthia Atkins, Roselle

Pamela Morgan, Roselle

Renaee Smith, Roselle

Morgan Thompson , Roselle

Sister Percylee Hart, Scotch Plains

Suzanne Schneider, Scotch Plains

Clara Harelik, Springfield

Marla Napurano, Springfield

Karen Positan, Springfield

Lisa Ciampa Trobaugh, Summit

Robin Tanner, Summit

Lori Tarke, Summit

Mary Zimmermann, Summit

Erica Bell, Union

Natasha Hemmings, Westfield

Elizabeth Savnik, Westfield

These nominees represent the diversity of Union County, each bringing a unique perspective and a commitment to making a difference in our community. Their dedication to diversity, equity, and inclusion serves as an inspiration to us all, reflecting the spirit of Women’s History Month and the cherished values we uphold here in Union County, New Jersey.

For more information about the 2024 Union County SHERO Award, please reach out to Jennifer Erdos at the Union County Office on Women: 908-527-4216 or email or visit