Public Info

Union County Clerk Reminds Voters on Redistricting

Union County Clerk Joanne Rajoppi reminds voters that due to Congressional redistricting, several Union County municipalities have had their Congressional District changed for the 2022 election. The sample ballots reflect these changes.

government building

The changes were determined by the New Jersey Redistricting Commission.

The affected Union County municipalities are as follows:

  • Voters in Fanwood, Rahway and Scotch Plains are now in the 7th Congressional District. 
  • Voters in Cranford, Garwood, Kenilworth and Union are now in the 10th Congressional District.
  • Voters in Linden are now split between the 7th and 10th Congressional Districts:

The 7th Congressional District includes Ward 2 Districts 1-2-3, Ward 3 Districts 2 and 3, Ward 6 Districts 1-2-3 and Ward 7 Districts 1-2-3-4.

The 10th Congressional District includes all other wards

“The New Jersey Redistricting Commission is mandated by our State Constitution to draw the lines of the State’s congressional districts which must be substantially equal in population.  This is a process which occurs after the Federal Census every 10 years,” Ms. Rajoppi stated.

An official redistricting congressional map that shows the changes effective this year is available online at:

For more information about the County Clerk’s election services visit or contact the Elections Division at 908-527-4996 or

For more information about all County Clerk programs and services, visit online at or call 908-527-4787.

For information and updates on all Union County services during the COVID-19 outbreak, including free vaccination, free testing and other support services, visit General information about COVID-19 is available through the New Jersey Department of Health at

#  #

Connect with Union County on social media.