Public Info

Union County to Present Annual Women of Excellence Awards, June 11

Commission for Status on Women to honor 11 County women at free virtual event

union county commission on the status of women, women of excellence

Union County, NJ – The Union County Commission on the Status of Women is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020-2021 Women of Excellence Awards. Eleven Union County women have been selected to receive awards for their outstanding contributions. The awardees will be honored at a virtual event on Friday, June 11 at 6:30 p.m.

The virtual awards ceremony is free for all to attend but pre-registration is required. Residents who wish to pre-register can do so by visiting

“For over 25 years, the Board of County Commissioners has recognized women among us who lead, serve, and inspire. Through their work, they raise awareness about the influence of women in every sphere of the Union County community, from business and legal affairs to public service and education,” said County Commissioner Chairman Alexander Mirabella. “We are proud to acknowledge their contributions towards a positive difference in the quality of life for everyone in the County.”

The Union County women being recognized for their accomplishments by the Commission on the Status of Women are:

Women’s Advocacy – Margot Baruch – Mountainside

Mental Health Advocacy – Joyce Benz – Springfield

Volunteerism – Joan Crout – Westfield

Environmental/Activism – Marian Glenn – Summit

Education – Monica Goncalves – Elizabeth

Lifetime Achievement – Sister Percylee Hart, RSM – Scotch Plains

Healthcare – Pamela Palmieri – Fanwood

Special Education Advocacy – Diana Pinto-Gomez – Fanwood

Entrepreneurial/Medical – Nancy Polow, PhD. – Scotch Plains

Government – Clara Fernandez – Elizabeth

Special Service Award – Judy Jenkins-Gaudino – Summit

Each awardee will receive an engraved Women of Excellence plaque and a County Commissioner Resolution in their honor recognizing their impact on the Union County community.

The Women of Excellence awards are sponsored by the Union County Board of County Commissioners and the Commission on the Status of Women, with the Union County Office on Women.

For any questions or to get more information about the Women of Excellence awards program, contact Nancy Malta, Commissioner Administrative Liaison at 908-527-4298 or or Jen Erdos, Secretary to the Commission on the Status of Women, at 908-527-4216 or


For all Union County programs and services visit, call the Public Info Line, 877-424-1234, email or use the online Contact Form.


Connect with Union County on social media.