Public Info

Changes to Union County Congressional, Municipal Ward & District Maps

Redistricting based on results of Census 2020  impacts several County municipalities.

nj congressional district map

Union County, NJ — The Union County Board of Elections informs residents that there have been many changes in Union County following the results of the 2020 Census. The New Jersey Congressional Redistricting Committee has approved the new congressional map. Changes impact several towns in Union County.

The new congressional assignments represent the congressional districts in which Union County towns will vote in 2022. The candidates elected in this year’s general election will represent the newly formed district when they are sworn-in, in 2023. Until the new congress is sworn-in in 2023, residents will continue to be represented according to the current congressional district assignments.

“The Congressional line has realigned many towns in Union County, which will affect who appears on the voters’ ballots and who will represent them in Congress starting January 2023,” explained Nicole DiRado, Administrator, Union County Board of Elections.  “Affected voters need to be aware of this change and seek information on the candidates so they are not surprised by the ballot when they vote in June.”

Under the new map, Union County’s towns will vote in the following Congressional Districts in the upcoming 2022 elections:

Congressional District 7: Berkeley Heights, Clark, Fanwood, Linden Split Wards (Wards 2, 6 & 7 and 3-2 & 3-3), Mountainside, New Providence, Rahway, Scotch Plains, Springfield, Summit, Westfield and Winfield

Congressional District 8: Elizabeth

Congressional District 10: Cranford, Garwood, Hillside, Kenilworth, Linden Split Wards (Wards 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 10 and 3-1 & 3-4), Roselle, Roselle Park, and Union

Congressional District 12: Plainfield

Following the Congressional Redistricting, the Ward Commissions of each of the 10 towns which have wards convened to review their respective ward lines. Both the Congressional Redistricting Committee and the Ward Committees work to ensure the population is equally distributed amongst their respective districts. The maps in Hillside, Summit and Westfield have not changed as a result of the 2020 Census data.

Ward lines have been redrawn in Clark, Elizabeth, Linden, Plainfield, Rahway, Roselle, and Roselle Park. Then, the Union County Board of Elections Commissioners convened to adopt new election district maps to ensure voters are assigned to an election district, following the redraw of the ward line.

All affected voters will receive a communication from the Union County Board of Elections in May, prior to Election Day, alerting them of their new congressional district, ward and election district and polling place, if applicable. Voters will also find this information on their sample ballot.

Voters can visit the Union County Board of Elections Website ( or call 908-527-4123 for more information.

Additional resource links: For more information and updates on all Union County services during the COVID-19 outbreak, including free vaccination, free testing, emergency food distribution and other support services, visit General information about COVID-19 is available through the New Jersey Department of Health at

#  #

For all Union County programs and services visit, call the Public Info Line, 877-424-1234, email or use the online Contact Form.

Connect with Union County on social media.