Public Info

SBA to Close Some Recovery Centers in New Jersey; Last Chance to Get One-On-One Assistance

The U. S. Small Business Administration announced today that due to a steady decrease of activity, the Recovery Centers located in Bergen, Essex, Hudson and Union counties will cease operations on Feb.  11.  The Centers located in Atlantic, Monmouth and Ocean counties will remain open until further notice.  However, in observance of Presidents’ Day, the Centers located in Atlantic and Ocean counties will be closed on Friday, Feb. 12 and Monday, Feb. 15; the Monmouth County Center will be closed on Feb. 15 for the holiday. 

SBA’s Customer Service Representatives are available at the Centers to answer questions from businesses and residents affected by Superstorm Sandy about the disaster loan program and help survivors complete their applications. 

The following Union County location and hours of operation are as indicated below: 

Union County
Union County Administration Building
2nd Floor, Department of Human Services Suite
10 Elizabethtown Plaza
Elizabeth, NJ 07207
Hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday – Friday
Closing Thursday, Feb. 11

Anyone unable to visit a Center may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at

Businesses and individuals may also obtain disaster loan information and application forms by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to  Loan applications can be downloaded from  Completed applications can be returned to a center or mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road,
Fort Worth, TX 76155.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Dec. 1, 2016.  The deadline to return economic injury applications is Dec. 1, 2016.