Public Info

2021 Winners of Union County SHero Awards Announced

office on women and sheros

Union County, NJ – The Union County Board of Commissioners is pleased to recognize 55 women with the 2021 Union County SHero Award. The award is administered by the Union County Office on Women, and was created to help raise awareness about the contributions of women in Union County during the COVID-19 crisis.

“This award recognizes women who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to their community during a history-making crisis,” said Commissioner Chairman Alexander Mirabella.

The 55 women recognized by the 2021 SHero Awards were selected based on nominations submitted to the Office on Women.

The following residents have been recognized with a 2021 SHero Award:

  • Donna Aflalo, Berkeley Heights
  • Marie Avagliano, Summit
  • Kim Baglieri, Clark
  • Kisha Belton Chubb, Plainfield
  • Pam Bonifacio, Elizabeth
  • Pamela Brug, Westfield
  • Jessica Cohen, Elizabeth
  • Sally Corvinus, Clark
  • Jennifer Costa, Elizabeth
  • Elaine Coupe, Scotch Plains
  • Katie Darcy, Summit
  • Susan DeLuise, New Providence
  • Bonnie Diaz, CDS, Clark
  • Nancy DiLiegro, Elizabeth
  • Zenaida Downey, Linden
  • Vikki Drake, Cranford
  • NJ Sews In Unity, Face-Mask Making Group, Linden
  • Michele Ford, Roselle
  • Krishna Garlic, Elizabeth
  • Gloria (Anny) Garris, Rahway
  • Yelena Horré, Linden
  • Kristin Imbimbo, Clark
  • Linda Karlovitch, Kenilworth
  • Eileen Kelly, Roselle Park
  • Kristen Koehler, EdD, Rahway
  • Lori Kowalski, Clark
  • Antonietta LaVecchia, Summit
  • Barbara Maher, Rahway, NJ
  • Mary McTigue, Elizabeth
  • Deana Mesaros, Linden
  • Phyllis Mirabella, Fanwood Borough
  • Diane Moore-Pender, Plainfield
  • Rebecca Morales Tantillo, Cranford
  • Kathleen Ollen, Cranford
  • Danie Orelien Armstead, Linden
  • Pam Palmieri, Fanwood
  • Amanda Parrish Block, Summit
  • Amy, Radick Mountainside
  • Carmela Resnick, Scotch Plains
  • Jaheedah Roane, M.D., Rahway
  • Adrienne Robertiello, Scotch Plains
  • Nilda Rosario, Linden
  • Carmen Salavarietta, Plainfield
  • Michelle Salermo, Elizabeth
  • Mansi Sanghvi, Linden
  • Cindy Torres, Elizabeth
  • Gayle Turner, Kenilworth
  • Lauren Twombly, Mountainside
  • Juanita Vargas, Elizabeth
  • Debra Varnerin, Berkeley Heights
  • Coral Venturino, Westfield
  • Dahlia Vertreese, Hillside
  • Lawanna Wade, Hillside
  • Amy Wagner, Berkeley Heights
  • Christina Wilson, Rahway

All SHero awardees will receive a certificate and will be featured on the Union County Office on Women’s webpage at

For information and updates on all Union County services during the COVID-19 outbreak, including the Drive-Through Test Center at Kean University, the Mobile Test Unit walk-up sites, vaccination information, emergency food distribution and other support services, visit General information about COVID-19 is available through the New Jersey Department of Health at


For all Union County programs and services visit, call the Public Info Line, 877-424-1234, email or use the online Contact Form.

Connect with Union County on social media.