Public Info

Union County government holds 165th annual Reorganization on Sunday, January 3rd, 2021 – This year’s reorganization will be held virtually on Facebook live

Union County Government will hold its annual reorganization on Sunday, January 3rd, which begins at 12 p.m. The installation ceremony and the reorganizational meeting will be held in person at the steps of the Union County Courthouse and will convene virtually due to COVID-19 pandemic so that the public may participate.  Both the installation ceremony and the reorganizational meeting will be broadcast live on the County’s Facebook page.

Union County Board of County Commissioners Chairman Alexander Mirabella, a resident of Fanwood, is expected to continue a second year in a row as Chairman, and Commissioner Rebecca Williams, a resident of Plainfield, is expected to be Vice Chair. Those scheduled to be sworn into new terms include: Commissioners Angela R. Garretson and Christopher Hudak. Lourdes M. Leon  will begin her first term as a Commissioner. County Clerk Joanne Rajoppi and County Sheriff  Peter Corvelli will be sworn in to new terms.

Commissioners will also vote to fill numerous positions on county standing committees, advisory boards and to adopt the board’s 2021 schedule and more.